• Recognition of a cardiac arrest.
  • High-quality chest compressions.
  • Ventilations.
  • Use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) indiviually or as part of a team.
  • The providers role in the Chain of Survival.
  • There are three types of courses:

Family and Friends CPR is a self-directed learming system for people who want to be able to repond to a person in a cardiac arrest and who do not require a completion card.

HeartSaver is for people who want or are able to respond to a person in cardiac arrest.

BLS for Healthcare Provider (HCP)(C) is for people who have a duty to respond to a cardiovascular emergency.

BLS providers must be re-certified annually to maintain their standing.